SMRA logo

connecting people & nature since 1953

Audubon volunteers make a difference for birds, other wildlife and habitats. Photo: SMRAS/Anne Swaim.

Saw Mill River Audubon
275 Millwood Road
Chappaqua, New York 10514

board of directors

To contact our board of directors or committee chairs, please use the contact information for Saw Mill River Audubon.

As a not-for-profit organization, Saw Mill River Audubon relies on the talents of our volunteer board of directors to help our organization thrive. Board members bring a broad range of personal and professional experience to Saw Mill River Audubon. The board oversees the financial well-being of our organization, develops long-range planning, and maintains overall vision.

Board Officers

  • President: Valerie Lyle
  • Vice-President: Tom Ruth
  • Treasurer: Thomas McEnerney
  • Secretary: William Kellner
  • Board Chair: Richard Saravay

One third of the board positions are up for election each year. Terms of office are three years. The board officers are elected annually.

Board Members
Listed by Term Expiration

Louisa Gagliardi
Philip Heidelberger
William Kellner
Donna Lassiter
Michael Madias, Jr.
Steve Rappaport
Nina Romanoff
Larry Trachtenberg
Earl DePass
Rik Kaufman
Valerie Lyle
Thomas McEnerney
Lynn Salmon
Jean Sparacin
Cary Andrews
Ginger Bernardin
Suzanne Kavic
Kenneth Novenstern
Thomas Ruth
Richard Saravay
Kathleen Williamson
Debbie van Zyl


Audubon volunteers repairing Pruyn bird blind roof.
Photo: SMRA/Nick Fischer.

Volunteers are our strength.
Many members and friends volunteer at special events, during fund drives, at sanctuary work days, on committees, and in many other ways during the year. Our dedicated committee members are the real story behind our effectiveness. From membership to field trips to finance, committees help us carry out our mission and achieve our goals.

Major Committee Chairs

  • Advocacy: Tom Ruth
  • Field Trips: Debbie van Zyl
  • Finance: Phil Heidelberger
  • Newsletter Editor: Brian Kluepfel
  • Newsletter Mailing: Jean Sparacin
  • Seed Sale: Ken Novenstern
  • Sanctuaries: Michael Madias, Jr
    • Brinton: Michael Madias, Jr
    • Choate: Phil Heidelberger
    • Pinecliff: Lynn & John Salmon
    • Pruyn: David Watson
    • Pruyn Arboretum: Tom McEnerney
    • Pruyn Garden: Donna Lassiter
    • Graff: Mark Magel & Nina Romanoff
    • Haas: Phil Heidelberger